Friday, January 13, 2017

2017: Schedule of Readings

12th Annual: Scissortail Creative Writing Festival
April 6-8, 2017
East Central University
Ada, Oklahoma

Thursday, April 6

I. 9:30 – 10: 45 Estep Auditorium  

Brady Peterson – Belton, Texas
From an Upstairs Window
Rebecca Hatcher Travis – Sulphur, Oklahoma
Constant Fires
Michael Dooley – Tarleton State University
Mary, Mother of …

II. 11:00 – 12: 15 Estep Auditorium

Elizabeth Raby – Santa Fe, New Mexico
A Matter of Time
Paul Bowers – Northern Oklahoma College
The Lone, Cautious, Animal Life
Dorothy Alexander – Santa Fe & Oklahoma City
Birds, Bees and Misogyny: Verse & Paragraphs

*** Lunch ***

III. 2:00 – 3: 15 North Lounge

George McCormick – Cameron University
Sarah Webb – Burnet, Texas
What the Moon Saw
Jim Benton – Ft. Worth, Texas
Poems of the Scissortail’s Nest

IV. 2:00 – 3:15 Estep Auditorium

John Morris – Cameron University
On Wickedness, Art and Solubility
Mary Anna Evans – University of Oklahoma
Only a Time Machine
Gary Worth Moody – Santa Fe, New Mexico
Upon Fevered Ground

V. 3:30 – 4:45 Estep Auditorium

Jennifer Kidney – Norman, Oklahoma
Deadhead, Hog Farm, Grass and Other Things
William Peter Grasso – Tulsa, Oklahoma
Just a Matter of Time …
Greg Stapp – Norman, Oklahoma
Whatever Counts as Blood among Locusts

VI. 3:30 – 4:45 North Lounge

Tom Murphy – Corpus Christi, Texas
Prometheus Unbound
Carol Coffee Reposa – San Antonio, Texas
Incident at a Party
Richard Dixon – Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Winding Stair

VII. 7:00 – Estep Auditorium
(Musical Prelude: begins at 6:30pm)

Featuring: Patricia Hampl

(Authors’ Reception follows at Vintage 22)

Friday, April 7

VIII. 9:00 – 9:50 Estep Auditorium

Sally Rhoades – Albany, New York
Through the Layers
Rob Roensch – Oklahoma City University
Victor, Jonah, Laney

IX. 9:00 – 9:50 North Lounge

Jessica Issacs – Seminole State College
The Deer in the Corn & Other Poems
Michael Howarth – Missouri Southern State U
Scream Three Times

X. 10:00 – 10:50 Estep Auditorium

Paul Austin – Norman, Oklahoma
Michelle Hartman – Ft. Worth, Texas
Lost Journal of My Second Trip to Purgatory

XI. 10:00 – 10:50 North Lounge

Shaun Perkins – Locust Grove, Oklahoma
The Book with the Beacon Lights
Juan Perez – Corpus Christi, Texas
Protesting Politically

XII. 11:00 – 11:50 Estep Auditorium

Ben Myers – Oklahoma Baptist University
Poems in Various Forms
Roxie Faulkner Kirk – Morris, Oklahoma
The Northeast Corner Section

XIII. 11:00 – 11:50 North Lounge

Joey Brown – Missouri Southern State U
Cross-Cut Stanzas
Todd Fuller – University of Oklahoma
Cherry Kool-Aid vs. Post-Truth America

*** Lunch ***

XIV. 2:00 – 3:15 North Lounge

Clarence Wolfshohl – Fulton, Missouri
Scattering Ashes
Terri L. Cummings – Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
The Nature of Nature
Ron Wallace – Durant, Oklahoma
Songs for Lesser Gods

XV. 2:00 -3:15 Estep Auditorium

Alan Berecka – Del Mar College
The Hamlet of Stittville
Margaret Dornaus – Ozark, Arkansas
Prayer for the Dead: Recently Collected Poems
Terry Lucas – Mill Valley, California
A Small Desert Town

XVI. 3:30 – 4:45 Estep Auditorium

Katherine Hoerth – U.T. –Rio Grande Valley
Revisionist Mythmaking in Texas
Chera Hammons – Amarillo, Texas
Born under a Bright Horizon
J.C. “Catfish” Mahan – Edmond, Oklahoma
I Hate Poetry

XVII. 3:30 – 4:45 North Lounge

Dan Wilcox – Albany, New York
Where’s the Nearest Ocean?
Jennifer Luckenbill – Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
The Water Below
Lyman Grant – Austin Community College
Old Men on Tuesday Mornings

XVIII. 7:00 Estep Auditorium

Featuring Leif Enger
(Musical prelude at 6:30 pm)

Saturday, April 8

XIX. 9:00– 10:15 Estep Auditorium

Ann Howells – Carrollton, Texas
Conjuring the Chesapeake
A.W. Marshall – Tulsa, Oklahoma
The Bend
Jeanetta Calhoun Mish – Oklahoma City U
Elegies & Love Poems

XX. 10:30 -11:45 Estep Auditorium

Andrew Geyer – Univ. of South Carolina-Aiken
Jenny Yang Cropp – Cameron University
Poems from Concordance
Nathan Brown – Wimberly, Texas
Don’t Try

XXI. 12:00 – 1:00 pm Estep Auditorium

Grand Finale: Rilla Askew
University of OklahomaSnake Season
& Awarding the Dr. Darryl Fisher
State High School Contest Winners

No comments:

Post a Comment